One quadrillion Btu. (1,000,000,000,000,000 Btu)

Qualifying Facility

A category of electric power producer established under the Public Utility Regulatory Policy Act (PURPA) of 1978, that includes small-power producers (SPP) who use renewable sources of energy such as biomass, geothermal, hydroelectricity, solar (thermal and photovoltaic), and wind, or cogenerators who produce both heat and electricity using any type of fuel. PURPA requires utilities to purchase electricity from these power producers at a rate approved by a state utility regulatory agency under Federal guidelines. PURPA also requires power providers to sell electricity to these producers. Some states have developed their own programs for SPPs and utilities.